Character Thursday (15) : Alice from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

I read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland for A Victorian Celebration. And this Character Thursday is a blog weekly meme hosted by Fanda Classiclit.

I think we all know Alice from our childhood bed-stories or cartoon movie, but honestly I haven’t read the full novel until now. I’ve got no surprise of her character but I found it still interesting to be described further.

From the first paragraph of the book, her first sentence, I knew that I’d gonna have fun with this girl.

`and what is the use of a book,’ thought Alice `without pictures or conversation?’

No, it’s not because I agreed of what she said. It was because I saw a little girl in this story as a main character. She would have experienced something, or many thing that I’ve known before. I was just walking through the details, what would be happened to this ordinary little girl. (It is ordinary for a little girl for saying something like that, isn’t it?)

At the beginning of the story, she was extremely tired and bored for not doing anything. When she saw a white rabbit with pink eyes that had a watch in its waistcoat-pocket and kept saying that it should be late, she was burning with curiosity and followed the rabbit without thinking about anything else. Then, the adventures began.

Carroll didn’t mention Alice’s physical appearance at all. So I wouldn’t say anything about it, though many of us have our personal image of Alice. The first thing (I found) Carroll mentioned about Alice’s personality was her nature of showing off. And that was happened even when she fell down to the rabbit-hole! It happened several time throughout the book.

I think she was a good thinker, however, but her thoughts were so many that she couldn’t manage to make one good conclusion. Talking about thoughts, I found it several times when Alice took conversations with other creatures, she often lost control and kept saying something that she was unintended to say. And that made her into troubles. Alice also frequently lost her temper.

As I said that she was a good thinker, she actually wise enough for a little girl. But…

She generally gave herself very good advice, (though she very seldom followed it)

It sounded an excellent plan, no doubt, and very neatly and simply arranged; the only difficulty was, that she had not the smallest idea how to set about it;

`shall I NEVER get any older than I am now? That’ll be a comfort, one way–never to be an old woman–but then–always to have lessons to learn! Oh, I shouldn’t like THAT!’

She would did grow older, obviously. And the absurd and queer adventures she experienced in Wonderland would made some differences of herself later. It’s not mentioned on this book, but I think the last paragraph tell us best.

how she would keep, through all her riper years, the simple and loving heart of her childhood: and how she would gather about her other little children, and make THEIR eyes bright and eager with many a strange tale, perhaps even with the dream of Wonderland of long ago: and how she would feel with all their simple sorrows, and find a pleasure in all their simple joys, remembering her own child-life, and the happy summer days.

Mia Wasikowska as Alice in Walt Disney Picture adaptation directed by Tim Burton (2010)

I’m impressed of this girl’s adventures, of her absurdity, of her reactions of queer things. But her part was just showing us, it is we that should absorb the moral by ourself. She’s just a little girl, I told you🙂

You are welcomed to join Character Thursday.

5 responses to “Character Thursday (15) : Alice from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. Haa…Alice is indeed an interesting, unique character, and I don’t think she is an ordinary little girl. She’s smart, brave and open-minded little girl (I think if I ever got in her adventure, I would have been crying as hard as I could, LOL!)

    • that’s right, she’s smart (good thinker on my term), brave, and adventurous little girl. I said ‘ordinary’ for her first words actually, before we see her ‘extraordinary’ nature further throughout the story🙂

  2. I had the same feeling as you – that, because of popular culture, I already “knew” Alice in a way, but it was totally different and richer to read about her the first time. Thanks for this post, I enjoyed it!

    • Many cartoon-movies focused on ‘wonderland’, but not about ‘what’ or ‘how’ Alice’s thoughts.
      Thanks for passing by and enjoying my post🙂

  3. Pingback: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll « Bacaan B.Zee

Leave a Reply

