October Meme for The Classics Club

Actually, this is the 3rd Monthly Meme of The Classics Club, but it’s my first time joining the meme.

Here is the October’s question:

Why are you reading the classics?

I have a great curiosity inside of me. While all people talking about (even they’ve never read) classic books, classic characters, or everything taken from classics, I want to know–I mean–I DO WANT to know. I won’t be satisfied if people told me what the books are about, nor only watch the adaptation movies. I want to read them, the original works, those will satisfy me.

There is a so-true quote from Mark Twain : “Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”
But no, I don’t want to be that ‘people’. Because the more I read classics, the more I realize that classics are treasures. Classics contain numerous value about life; everlasting, beautiful–even in absurdity, they always have powers to bring me into precious journeys by reading them. Classics bring me into another era–ancient time and old fashions always attract me, giving accurate illustrations of the certain period.

There is something about classics that contemporary literature don’t have, the length of existence. Classics have traveled through time and generations, if they’re still ‘alive’, I believe they’re good enough to be read, no matter how awful their readers’ opinions are.

I read contemporary books as well. If classics are foods, then contemporary are snacks (yeah, I like snacking). I believe some of those ‘snacks’ are potential to be classics, but they have to travel through years and decades to prove themselves. For now, I still (and would always) need more ‘food’ to satisfy my hunger🙂

“Reading” – Auguste Renoir (1890-1895)

 

14 responses to “October Meme for The Classics Club

  1. Nicely said!😀

  2. I always crave for more food, then! LOL…
    Maybe it’s because we have never had literary at school that had caused this crave for classics? Nonetheless, classics are treasures–as you put it, from where we can learn a lot of things about life.

  3. It may cause overweight–at brain and soul, which is the best kind of oveweight😀
    Probably, I envy people keep saying they’ve read this and that at school, sedangkan sekolah2 kita cuma menyuruh menghapalkan judul dan nama pengarang *sampe malu mau ngomongnya*

  4. I am also building a list for my daughter. That way we can have wonderful talks and share the love of these timeless books.

    Have a wonderful day.

  5. I like the food and snack analogy

  6. I made the same kind of food comparison on my post about classics (I likened some of the mainstream books to potato chips). Like minds🙂

  7. I don’t want to be one of those people Twain described either — I love your reasons for reading the classics!😀

  8. Haha, I call it “brain candy” rather than snacks, but I know what you mean. But, you know, sometimes your brain needs a nice break….like a palate cleanser. I appreciate the classics more if I read books that don’t resonate as well in between.😉

Leave a Reply

