Weekend Quote (4)

I remembered several months ago when I read Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery, I found that I love Anne Shirley so much. This little girl’s thoughts were unbelievably almost exactly the same as what I’ve thought, which were very few people could understand.

I marked many quotes there, here is one of them:

“You set your heart too much on things, Anne,” said Marilla, with a sigh. “I’m afraid there’ll be a great many disappointments in store for you through life.”
“Oh, Marilla, looking forward to things is half the pleasure of them,” exclaimed Anne. “You mayn’t get the things themselves; but nothing can prevent you from having the fun of looking forward to them. Mrs. Lynde says, ‘Blessed are they who expect nothing for they shall not be disappointed.’ But I think it would be worse to expect nothing than to be disappointed.”

Don’t be afraid of dreaming, don’t lose hope, because the process is what really matter.

Weekend Quote is hosted by Half-Filled Attic. Feel free to join. You can:

  • Give the context of the quote
  • Give your opinion whether you agree or disagree with it
  • Share your experience related to the quote
  • Share similar quotes you remember
  • Or anything else. Just have fun with the quote.

4 responses to “Weekend Quote (4)

  1. Oh, that is so inspiring. I’m going to copy that quote and place it somewhere prominent to remind me when I get discouraged.🙂

  2. “It would be worse to expect nothing than to be disappointed.” Nice one. Perhaps I should read the book one day.

    • yes, you should. next year, i plan to read the sequel… the heroine really have a strong character, plus i love to read children’s lit too🙂

Leave a Reply

