November Meme for The Classics Club

This month meme question is:

What classic piece of literature most intimidates you, and why? (Or, are you intimidated by the classics, and why? And has your view changed at all since you joined our club?)

English is not my native language. But sometimes, I read classics in English because of two reasons: it hasn’t been translated or I prefer the original taste of the original language. Even though, it still requires some time and efforts for me to understand the language, especially old literatures.

So the answer of this question is any classics that has a lot number of pages, in English, about 500++. But that’s just for the beginning. I’m sure when I’m absorbed into the book, pages won’t matter. Courage needed.

“Reading” – Auguste Renoir (1890-1895)

2 responses to “November Meme for The Classics Club

  1. I can’t read in any language except English, so you deserve credit for slogging through a book in a non-native language, even if you don’t like reading really long ones.🙂

    My November Meme is here

    • Reading in English (or in the original language) make a different taste than its translation, so I can’t help myself not to read in English, even if I should doubled my efforts, even if I’m intimidated🙂

Leave a Reply

