Weekend Quote (8)

In words, words. Each one of us has within him a whole world of things, each man of us his own special world. And how can we ever come to an understanding if I put in the words I utter the sense and value of things as I see them; while you who listen to me must inevitably translate them according to the conception of things each one of you has within himself. We think we understand each other, but we never really do.

I took the quote from Luigi Pirandello‘s play “Six Characters in Search of an Author” that I read for LRP challenge this month. It was my first touch with Pirandello, and I love the ideas he put into the dialogues of the characters. One of my favourite is that quote I mentioned above.

The idea I’ve found years ago, about understanding. Sometimes, we think that by speaking or telling people about our thoughts or feelings could make them understand. However, words aren’t working that way. Words are only media, while we put words to describe something, others may translate the very same words into completely different meanings.

Let me give an example. There were two men having a conversation. The first man was an adventurer, while another one was a settled man. If the first man told the second man about one of his journey–through the jungle, mountain, rain and lack of food–he might think what a hard life and many sufferings an adventurer should bear. However, the first man considered the ‘sufferings’ as an achievement, he was glad and proud of it. It’s because they had very different point of view due to different experience and different world they’ve lived.

So it is also my explanation. May be it  will be taken differently by you. Do you agree?

Weekend Quote is hosted by Half-Filled Attic. Feel free to join. You can:

  • Give the context of the quote
  • Give your opinion whether you agree or disagree with it
  • Share your experience related to the quote
  • Share similar quotes you remember
  • Or anything else. Just have fun with the quote.

3 responses to “Weekend Quote (8)

  1. It’s actually a brilliant quote. I just can’t agree more. Fantastic.

  2. Pingback: Six Characters in Search of an Author – Luigi Pirandello | Bacaan B.Zee

Leave a Reply

