Weekend Quote (11)

“It is a small world. You do not have to live in it particularly long to learn that for yourself. There is a theory that, in the whole world, there are only five hundred real people (the cast, as it were; all the rest of the people in the world, the theory suggests, are extras) and what is more, they all know each other. And it’s true, or true as far as it goes. In reality the world is made of thousands upon thousands of groups of about five hundred people, all of whom will spend their lives bumping into each other, trying to avoid each other, and discovering each other in the same unlikely teashop in Vancouver. There is an unavoidability to this process. It’s not even coincidence. It’s just the way the world works, with no regard for individuals or for propriety.” 
― Neil GaimanAnansi Boys

I have known that this world is small, I met same person at different place and occasion, I met so many mutual friends, however, I never thought as brief as Gaiman did. The theory above can be so true, that makes everything being acceptable.

Sometimes, when I go to a public space, I often think “at this big place, with hundreds of people, how come I don’t recognize one of them?”. They’re extras in my life. I have met thousands people, I believe, but many of them didn’t play important role in my life, so I just forgot them, vice versa.

So, if you want to be a part of someone’s group of cast, make sure that you play some important scenes😀

Weekend Quote is hosted by Half-Filled Attic. Feel free to join. You can:

  • Give the context of the quote
  • Give your opinion whether you agree or disagree with it
  • Share your experience related to the quote
  • Share similar quotes you remember
  • Or anything else. Just have fun with the quote.

 

 

Leave a Reply

