First Year Update of The Classics Club Project

classicsclubLast year, at April 5, 2012, I made a commitment to read 100 classics for 5 years. I’ve made my list here, but as time goes by, I found so many interesting classics out of my list that were on my reach.

Today, as exactly one year past, I’ve ‘only’ finished 13 books on my list. However, I’ve had 22 extra books. Including some modern classics, but not post-modern classics although I read several of them (I still have different idea about what is classics on some modern pieces).

Finished books from list:
1. A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
2. The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
3. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell
4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
5. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
6. Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
7. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
8. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
9. The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux
10. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
11. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
12. Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
13. Dracula by Bram Stoker

Other Classics:
1. Manxmouse by Paul Gallico
2. Heidi by Johanna Spyri
3. Padang Ilalang di Belakang Rumah by Nh. Dini (Indonesian Classic)
4. Layla & Majnun by Nizami Ganjavi
5. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
6. Under the Net by Iris Murdoch
7. The Old Capital by Yasunari Kawabata (Japanese Classic)
8. The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
9. N or M? by Agatha Christie
10. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
11. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
12. The Stranger by Albert Camus
13. East Wind West Wind by Pearl S. Buck
14. Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare
15. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
16. As You Like It by William Shakespeare
17. Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello
18. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
19. Holiday Romance by Charles Dickens
20. Cerita Calon Arang by Pramoedya Ananta Toer (Indonesian Classic)
21. Bukan Pasarmalam by Pramoedya Ananta Toer (Indonesian Classic)
22. Crooked House by Agatha Christie

All reviews of The Classics Club list I write in Bahasa Indonesia and English, but many other reviews I write only in Bahasa Indonesia. If you don’t read the language but want to understand, feel free to use Google Translate.

In the meantime, I won’t change my list, although I won’t stop reading outside my list. I still have 87 books left, and hundreds other books to read. I’ve had and will always have fun reading classics. Let’s say that the list is my duty (still having fun, though) and the others are the bonuses😉

“Springtime” by Claude Monet, 1872

5 responses to “First Year Update of The Classics Club Project

  1. Wow, great list u have there

  2. wah udah banyak baca klasiknya, aku mah keteteran

  3. Pingback: Second Year Update of The Classics Club Project | Bacaan B.Zee

Leave a Reply

