The Ultimate Book Tag

I’ve given some chained questions by my blogger fellow, Oky. It’s been a long time I don’t do this thing, so here are the 25 questions about books and reading I have to answer.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No, fortunately. Although, I often couldn’t concentrate reading in the car, I enjoy sightseeing the road or the scenery around.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’ve found several authors with unique writing style. But since I’ve only read one book each author, I tend to say some books with unique writing style; they are Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino, The Sound and The Fury by William Faulkner, etc. Why? Because they broke the ‘traditional’ writing rules, whether the punctuations, capitalizations, compositions, structures, etc. However, they did that on purpose, and for me, it was fun to explore those unique and original styles.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter. (1) I don’t read Twilight, since, I thought it’s not my cup of tea. I watched the first movie, though, so I have rights to judge :p (2) J. K. Rowling is a genius! She put every literary aspects in a form of fantasy books, that’s classic. (3) I don’t really understand why we always have to compare those two series, they indeed phenomenal in their own ways, but still, they’re completely different form of novel.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

More or less. I make sure that every bag I have could carry at least one book. Besides books, I always carry my wallet, tissue, hand sanitizer, and other private needs (depends on when, where, and how long I go).

5. Do you smell your books?

Not really, I prefer feel the textures of my books (especially the covers).

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I’m okay with both.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)

No idea. But, even if that’s happened, I value my first impression. We read to develop, don’t we?

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Not quite a funny story, but I remember when I was junior high school, my parents banned me from any comic books. One day, I was late from school and my parents was worried. They phoned one of my friend’s house (no cell phone at that time), she did know where I was, and innocently she answered, “Oh, she is at xxx’s home, borrowing comic books.”

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Oh, I haven’t arranged my shelf properly. I think I have Bilbo’s Last Songs by Tolkien and Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman, which both around 32 pages long.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

I guess Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (Indonesian Translation), 1124 pages.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Yes, I have a roller-coaster journey in writing. I’m still learning, but deep inside, some stories need to be spilled out.

12. When did you get into reading?

Since I know my ABC😉

13. What is your favorite classic book?

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, almost all Oscar Wilde’s, The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway, Animal Farm by George Orwell, Tolkien’s, The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis, etc. I love classic books, by the way.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I was good in English as the foreign language, since I studied in Indonesia. I think that subject in my country was only superficial.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Depends on the giver, sorry to say.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I hardly compare one series to another, maybe one or two aspects but not the whole series, so I have no idea.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

Losing words. That’s why I prefer writing.

18. What is your favorite word?

Nothing particular, depends on the situation and/or the topic. However, I like using ‘however’ in most of my writings, in any language.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Something between nerd and dweeb.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies. They look cute, and more magical.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters. Seems more adventurous.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

If I’m thinking about Remus Lupin, I’ll choose werewolves. However, some spirits in fantasy books are okay too.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires. It’s fun to stay young while you’re some hundreds years old.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Isn’t love triangle a forbidden love too? I think some stories/conflicts could be more creative while speaking about forbidden love.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

The later, I don’t really into romance stories.

That’s it! If you want to answer these questions above, feel free to post it in your blog and give me the link (I’d be glad to read yours).

2 responses to “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Thank you Mba, biar pun males akhirnya dikerjakan juga hihi *thumbs up*

Leave a Reply

