First Cycle of CLRP : Wrap Up

It’s been 3 years since I started my Children Literature Reading Project, and this is how it went. I was quite optimistic at the first year, for the second year I had a tough time (unrelated to this project), but everything was under control. Then, I had to slow down and lay back my blogging activities last year, so there wasn’t much progress for the third year. However, I don’t regret everything, since I had really great time reading children’s literature through the difficult times (though I didn’t review it all).

I’ve updated my 2014-2017 list so it contains books I’ve read and reviewed. I’ve added some books out of my original list and omitted some books I haven’t read/reviewed. Here are some books I’ve read that haven’t been reviewed, not including borrowed books and books I (seem like) won’t review:

  1. Ajdar – Marjane Satrapi
  2. B is for Beer – Tom Robbins
  3. Esio Trot – Roald Dahl
  4. The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupery (reread)
  5. The Magicians of Caprona – Diana Wynne Jones
  6. Sable – Karen Hesse
  7. Dear Mr. Henshaw – Beverly Clearly
  8. Indigo – Alice Hoffman
  9. Odd and the Frost Giants – Neil Gaiman
  10. Heartbeat – Sharon Creech
  11. Lulu Walks the Dogs – Judith Viorst
  12. The 13 Clocks – James Thurber
  13. Shiloh – Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

So there are 56+++ books I’ve read, and 43 books I’ve reviewed.

Just for the record, here are books I’ve omitted from the list. I may read these books for the next cycle.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe C. S. Lewis

1950

Prince Caspian C. S. Lewis

1951

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader C. S. Lewis

1952

The Silver Chair C. S. Lewis

1953

The Horse and His Boy C. S. Lewis

1954

The Last Battle C. S. Lewis

1956

Inkheart Cornelia Funke

2003

Inkspell Cornelia Funke

2006

Inkdeath Cornelia Funke

2008

Dragon Rider Cornelia Funke

2004

Ghost Knight Cornelia Funke

2012

Mixed Magics Diana Wynne Jones

2000

The Railway Children Edith Nesbit

1906

The Enchanted Castle Edith Nesbit

1907

Little Lord Fauntleroy Frances Hodgson Burnett

1885-6

A Little Princess Frances Hodgson Burnett

1905

Andersen’s Fairy Tales Hans Christian Andersen

1930-40s

The Story of Doctor Dolittle Hugh Lofting

1920

The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle Hugh Lofting

1922

Double Act Jacqueline Wilson

1995

The Worry Website Jacqueline Wilson

2002

The Swiss Family Robinson Johann Wyss

1812

Gulliver’s Travels Jonathan Swift

1726

The Tale of Despereaux Kate DiCamillo

2003

The Magician’s Elephant Kate DiCamillo

200

The Marvelous Land of Oz L. Frank Baum

1904

The Story Girl Lucy Maud Montgomery

1911

The Golden Road Lucy Maud Montgomery

1913

Anne of the Island Lucy Maud Montgomery

1915

The Prince and The Pauper Mark Twain

1881

The Adventure of Huckleberry Finn Mark Twain

188

James and the Giant Peach Roald Dahl

1961

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Roald Dahl

1964

So, how is your progress?

Leave a Reply

