The Classics Club Project : Wrap Up

classicsclub

It’s a long journey with The Classics Club. The Club has changed since then, more and more interesting events have been held. However, as time went by, there are things that made my blogging time reduced, let alone joining events or read alongs. I’m still reading classics, but these two years I have to take my own words of wanting to finish my original list.

These are my first year progress, my second year, and my third year. I even couldn’t make forth year progress, so I’ll be nicer to myself, and proudly say that these past 5 years, I’ve read 127 classics (short stories and poetries included), and reviewed 111 of them. Here are the list, continued from progress links above:

Finished books from CCP list:
27. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
28. The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens
29. Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling
30. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
31. The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis
32. The Seven Poor Travellers by Charles Dickens
33. The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien
34. The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
35. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
36. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
37. 7 Classic Stories by Edgar Allan Poe
38. Grimms’ Fairy Tales (Part 1)

Other classics (reviewed):
59. The Flood by Émile Zola
60. The Dream by Émile Zola
61. Inspirations – Classics selected by Paulo Coelho
62. Lotta by Astrid Lindgren
63. The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl
64. The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl
65. Matilda by Roald Dahl
66. The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me by Roald Dahl
67. Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata
68. Oeroeg by Hella S. Haasse
69. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
70. The BFG by Roald Dahl
71. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
72. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
73. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator by Roald Dahl

Other classics (haven’t reviewed):
1. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
2. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
3. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery (reread)
4. Perempuan di Persimpangan Zaman by Sutan Takdir Alisjahbana (Indonesian classic poetry)
5. Orkes Madun by Arifin C. Noer (Indonesian classic play)
6. The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde
7. Candide by Voltaire
8. Max Havelaar by Multatuli
9. The Fall by Albert Camus
10. The 13 Clocks by James Thurber
11. The Story of the Other Wise Man by Henry Van Dyke
12. Kaas by Willem Elsschot
13. Di Bawah Lindungan Ka’bah by Hamka (Indonesian classic)
14. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
15. Letter to a Hostage by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
16. Drawings by Sylvia Plath

I consider myself succeed, and I’ve given my reward to a friend, a copy of The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, for her and her son once he’s old enough to understand the story.

Will I join another round of this project? I haven’t decided it yet. I definitely will read a bunch of classics, but I don’t know if I could manage my blogging time better.

2 responses to “The Classics Club Project : Wrap Up

  1. Congratz, Bzee!
    Do join again, it will be much easier that we have succeed on first round. We can calculate our own pace, and adjust the challenge degree.

  2. Thanks! I do want to, it’s hard to resist joining the club 🙂 maybe I’ll need a little time to arrange it

Leave a Reply

