A Tolkien Blog Party of Special Magnificence

I should post this earlier this week, but the situation didn’t allow me to sit calmly and wrote for this magnificence Tolkien Blog Party, hosted by Hamlette. I must admit that I haven’t been a huge Tolkien reader, not yet. I’ve only watched the movies and read The Hobbit and The Fellowship of the Ring. But, I am sure I will read all his works once I got the chance. So, here we go.

1.  What draws you to Tolkien’s stories?  (The characters, the quests, the themes, the worlds, etc.)
Basically, I like high fantasy, especially classics. Though, after entering the world, I think I like Tolkien’s writing. He combined quests and characters perfectly, he put deep meaningful situations, and above all, his imaginations were so neat.

2.  What was the first Middle Earth book you read and/or movie you saw?  What did you think of it?
I watched the movie first, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I was impressed but I didn’t have the opportunity to read the book back then. I read The Hobbit some years ago and I was impressed way more than when I watched the movies. The fact is, I love it very much, in goodreads scale, I gave it 5 stars with no doubt. It gave me warm and happy feeling, the same reason why I love children’s literature.

3.  Name three of your favorite characters and tell us why you like them.
So far, I like: 1. Samwise Gamgee for his loyalty and bravery; 2. Lady Galadriel, I like strong female characters (although I may find others later); and 3. Aragorn for his humanly heroic actions, despite the fact that he should be a king.

4.  Are there any secondary characters you think deserve more attention?
Pass for now.

5.  What Middle Earth character do you relate to the most?
Bilbo Baggins, maybe. I found it’s really hard to get out from comfort zone, but once I’m out, I’m enjoying it.

6.  If you could ask Professor Tolkien one Middle Earth-related question, what would you like to ask him?
If you’re given a chance to write one more thing about Middle Earth, what would it be?

7.  Are there any pieces of Middle Earth merchandise you would particularly like to own, but don’t?
Any pieces are welcome, I haven’t had one. Particularly, I would like to have the ring, or hobbit hole miniature. Or anything shaped Smaug.

8.  What battle would you absolutely not want to be part of?
Every battle, I can’t imagine myself being a part of any of it.

9.  Would you rather eat a meal at Rivendell or Bag End?
It’s hard to choose, I always imagine Bag End as a homey place, but I always want to experience Elvish magical charm. So, it must be at Rivendell.

10.  List up to ten of your favorite lines/quotes from the books or movies.
Because I have only reviewed The Fellowship of the Ring, I just can quote from that book.

Nonetheless, ease and peace had left this people still curiously tough. They were, if it came to it, difficult to daunt or kill; and they were, perhaps, so unwearyingly fond of good things not least because they could, when put to it, do without them, and could survive rough handling by grief, foe, or weather in a way that astonished those who did not know them well and looked no further than their bellies and their well-fed faces. (Concerning Hobbits)

What do you mean? Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good on this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on? (Gandalf)

Among the Wise I am the only one that goes in for hobbit-lore: an obscure branch of knowledge, but full of surprises. Soft as butter as they can be, and yet sometimes as tough as old tree-roots. (Gandalf)

All we have to decide is what to do with the
time that is given us. (Gandalf)

Many that live deserve death. And some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them? Then do not be too eager to deal out death in judgement. For even the very wise cannot see all ends. (Gandalf)

You can trust us to stick with you through thick and thin–to the bitter end. And you can trust us to keep any secret of yours–closer than you keep it yourself. But you cannot trust us to let you face trouble alone, and go off without a word. We are your friends, Frodo. (Merry)

I am learning a lot about Sam Gamgee on this journey. First he was a conspirator, now he’s a jester. He’ll end up by becoming a wizard – or a warrior! (Frodo)

Well, let folly be our cloak, a veil before the eyes of the Enemy! For he is very wise, and weighs all things to a nicety in the scales of his malice. But the only measure that he knows is desire, desire for power; and so he judges all hearts. Into his heart the thought will not enter that any will refuse it, that having the Ring we may seek to destroy it. If we seek this, we shall put him out of reckoning. (Gandalf)

`Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens,’ said Gimli.
‘Maybe,’ said Elrond, `but let him not vow to walk in the dark, who has not seen the nightfall.’

Torment in the dark was the danger that I feared, and it did not hold me back. But I would not have come, had I known the danger of light and joy. (Gimli)

Can go on if I should 🙂

I wish I would have more things to say by next year, if Hamlette threw the party again. See more here.

2 responses to “A Tolkien Blog Party of Special Magnificence

  1. I’m glad you found time for the tag! I’ve really enjoyed reading your answers. That quote of Frodo’s about Sam’s roles is one of my favorites because Sam does end up a warrior.

    Thanks for joining the party!

Leave a comment